Hesburgh Libraries

Hesburgh Libraries faculty and staff receive annual awards for excellence

By | November 3, 2020

Hesburgh Libraries faculty and staff receive annual awards for excellence

Earlier this year, as preparations for the fall semester were underway, Hesburgh Libraries faculty and staff were recognized for milestone years of service, and several staff received the annual Library Award for Excellence.

In addition, thanks to a generous gift from the Joseph J. and Frances D. Rog Zavislak Endowment, a new annual award was established. The “Joseph J. and Frances D. Rog Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award,” honors members of the library faculty who have exhibited excellence through their daily work and professional contributions.

These honors are typically awarded during National Library Week, an annual celebration highlighting the valuable role libraries, librarians, and library workers play in transforming lives and strengthening our communities. Like so many things, the pandemic disrupted the timing and nature of this annual event.

“The 2020 theme for National Library Week, slightly modified to reflect the changing landscape, was: Find your place at the library. Find the library at your place. While our in-person celebration was sidelined as our COVID-19 response became the priority, we did not lose sight of the extraordinary accomplishments of our colleagues that we had planned to recognize on that day,” said Edward H. Arnold University Librarian Diane Walker.

Congratulations to our winners of the Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award and the Library Award for Excellence! This year’s awardees include:

Joseph J. and Frances D. Rog Zavislak Library Faculty Recognition Award Winners

Randy Harrison, Emerging Technologies Librarian — For his contributions to the profession and the launch of three new Library services.

Pat Lawton, Unit Head, Digital Access, Projects, and Outreach Services — For her mastery of skills defining leadership and empowering early-career librarians.

Monica Moore, Scholarly Communications and Undergraduate Engagement Librarian — For her passion for serving the academic community and growing a robust scholarly communications plan.

2020 Library Award for Excellence

Ian Alford, Manager, Enterprise Systems Unit — For exceptional performance in continuous improvement, leadership, and commitment to excellence.

Chris Bailey, IT Systems Analyst — For service excellence, effective communication, and proactively going far beyond expectations.

Tim Blewett, Manager, Document Delivery, Stacks, and Annex — For his teamwork and leadership during a reorganization of the User Services Unit.

James Cachey, Library Assistant III — For his leadership, commitment to service, and willingness to take on additional responsibilities.

Jeremiah Flannery, Collection Data Analyst — For his initiative and commitment to the Libraries mission and being a valued team member.

Jon Hartzler, Lead Software Engineer — For his vision, leadership, commitment to excellence, and teamwork.

Maureen Lakin, Library Assistant III — For her creative problem-solving and taking on additional responsibilities during a significant transition.

Tosha McComb, Conservation Technician — For her proactive, creative, and team-focused problem-solving skills and her can-do attitude.

Cindi McDonald, Library Assistant II — For her teamwork during a staffing shortage and dedication to service excellence.

Patrick Rader, Media Digitization Specialist — For implementing a strategy to address the increase in streaming service while ensuring high-quality material and support.

Michelle Savoie, Personnel Specialist — For organizational leadership during two critical University transitions.

Joe Smith, Archives Assistant — For his commitment to providing excellent research support and high-quality service during a staffing shortage.


View all News

284 Hesburgh Library, Notre Dame, IN 46556

Circulation Desk Phone (574) 631-6679

Security Monitors Phone (574) 631-6350


Facebook  Instagram  LinkedIn  Twitter   NDlibraries
Hesburgh Library Logo
Phone Number: (574) 631-6679